Unapologetically Bold: Marah In The Mainsail’s “Bone Crown” and Henry McKenna 10 year

If you’re like me, you love local music. It’s one of your passions to support local musicians. For me, Marah In The Mainsail is the best local band around. I met them while I still lived in Minnesota several years ago, and I loved their music. But the thing was, it wasn’t music written just for the listeners; it was music written for the author.

Austin Durry (lead singer) has been writing his heart down on a page for years and years. Each song tells a specific part of a much larger and complex story. This is why they call themselves “cinematic alt-rock.” They started as a “punk-grass” folk band, incorporating drums, banjos, trumpets, and an assortment of other things into their music, but as they’ve progressed and whittled their image, they’ve become a wildly energetic group, bringing amazing talent to the stage.

For “Bone Crown,” I wasn’t sure what to expect. And honestly, on the first listen, it was okay. Nothing really blew me away at first. However, the more I listened to it, the more intricate details I noticed. The more lyrics I read, the deeper I fell into the story. Marah In The Mainsail has really crafted something that appeals not only to those who want a hype-song, but those who want story, awesome instrumentals, and lyrics that reach you on a whole other level. If there’s one thing I can confidently say about this album is that it is unhindered, and unapologetically so.

I decided that the Henry McKenna 10 Year Bottled in Bond would be a good choice. It’s raw (I didn’t say cask strength), it’s strong, it’s bold. Its nose starts soft with the vanilla, but is quickly overtaken by the alcohol scent and hint of cherries.

For a small-town Minnesota band, this album flows incredibly well. Of course, “The Beginning” flows into “Fox Hole” like they were meant to be the same song. Here’s a secret: at one time, they were one song. But I digress.

There’s a lot going on in “Bone Crown.” Some songs are really fast and angry, while others are more melancholy in nature. Just about every song plays with the idea of these great “shadow snakes” or with the fire that is about to consume the forest. And I love that. The concept clearly envelopes the entire album.

The musicians who created this album really knew what they were doing when they went to record. Austin Durry’s guttural vocals really make this album what it’s meant to be. Mariah Mercedes’ vocals (remember her?) are light enough to fit well in the soft songs, but she has a strong enough voice to play well with the stronger songs. The trombone, trumpet, auxiliary percussion, and bass are all really well placed.

“Bone Crown” progresses well. No song is out of place; even “Brave Little Buck” has its place in the story and in the music. The whole thing points to its end. As it plays on, you can just tell when it’s going to end. And it ends on a strong note. “The End” slowly builds into a slow, but powerful instrumental that dissolves into a familiar melody: that of “The Beginning” (how fitting).

Albums like this give me real faith in music. There’s nothing that I truly dislike about it. My favorite tracks are probably “Leviathan,” “The Great Beyond,” and “Fisticuffs,” though I have no quarrels with any of the songs on here; they’re all great songs. Altogether, this album is phenomenal. The high notes are high, the soft parts are silk, and what’s meant to be strong is a juggernaut. 93/100.

Just like “Bone Crown,” this bottle of Henry McKenna had to grow on me a little bit. But after a while, I have come to like it (though not as much as the music). Directly on the palate, there is a cooling, menthol-like taste on the tongue that is quickly followed by vanilla, a sweet fruit, and some spice (that I assume comes from rye or wheat). It’s a pretty dry dram, but as it settles it’s fairly sweet. As it finishes, it has a slight bitterness, though this isn’t overbearing. This dram really opens up with a drop of water, gets a little sweeter, and the bitterness isn’t as present. Overall, I’d have to give this an 88/100. Not my favorite, but it’s good. If you buy a bottle, let it sit and open up a little bit, add some water, and enjoy yourself.

Please go check out this group and support them if you like what you hear.

As always, Sláinte!

http://marahinthemainsail.com/home-horizon#music-horizon-section

Leave a comment